Reclaimer; enough said

Posted: October 14, 2010 in DH TRAILS
Tags: , , , , , ,

The amazing fall weather we’ve been having is sticking around and I know by the sheer number of hikers, runners and bikers getting out in the Bow Valley that everyone is trying to take advantage of what is proving to be one of the best fall seasons we’ve had in a number of years. I took advantage of the warm temperatures myself by doing a lap down Reclaimer.

Reclaimer is a super popular shuttle trail, only one of two here in Canmore, that is always a good time. The trail crew continues their work on rerouting two sections of the trail, in an effort to add a few airs. I must say, that currently, I’m not a fan of what is being done. The flow on this new section is gone, replaced with a whole lot of loose rock. I understand that it’s a start and hopefully conditions will improve on this new section, but for now it really slows you down for no good reason. The rest of Reclaimer is as flowy as I remember and continues to be a great ride. The trail is only a short five to ten minute descent, but can be shuttled numerous times if you’re not satisfied after one run. I know I never am, but having peddled up today, one run is all I was doing.

Trailhead: Drive up the Spray Lake Road (742) to the pull off spot just past the avalanche sign on your right hand side. The trail is directly across the road and marked by a trail map marker.

Trailhead GPS: N51.07816; W115.40886

Happy Trails!

Leave a comment